Autorun using RPi4 streaming to view with a Windows workstation

Hi guys,
I’ve received the four DWE cameras, and have started to try and figure out how to make this all work. I am not a software developer, but I’m hoping this is possible: Use a dedicated RPi4 with 3, maybe 4 DWE cameras connected. The existing BR RPi3b will continue to just run the ROV control stuff. RPi4/gstreamer auto starts on powerup. Then some kind of Windows app to view the multiple streams. OBS maybe? Although I looked at OBS, and couldn’t figure out how to load gstreamer as a plugin??

I tried the DWE QGround control/BR Companion v1-6. Setup the video streams in the companion, and made the connection in QGC. No video in either the QGC, or the multi view window. Maybe because there isn’t the APM connected?

Thanks, Ken

2 Likes

Hello!

The 2 software we recommend for viewing streams other than are OBS and VLC player. We recommend OBS because it allows you to lay it out and do high quality recording.

To receive multiple streams in OBS, you will need to install gstreamer properly.

Instructions can be found here:
https://docs.rocos.io/prod/docs/gstreamer-on-windows

You will also need to install the gstreamer plugin for OBS by putting the dll in the plugins folder of OBS.

Installation instructions:

The quickest way of automatically running gstreamer on the RPi would be to use ArduSub Companion. The new Companion Beta from BR will allow you to setup multiple streams very easily.

Check it out here:
https://docs.bluerobotics.com/ardusub-zola/software/companion/1.0/

In the future, we will work on our own RPi image that just focuses on streaming to make the latency lower. We found that when we use RPi 3 or lower, we need to make the 2 streams 720p in order to get the lowest latency.

In regards to you not receiving video on the topside computer, can you send us a screenshot of the WebUI in the video streaming settings? The video stream should happen even without the PixHawk connected.